Research Committee Workshop – Scholarships

2015 Graduate Research Scholarships – A powerpoint presentation for you

A few take aways from the Research Committee Workshop about Scholarships held on Friday September 25 at 3pm:

  • The Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s Competition ($17,500) Deadline: October 30, 2015 to Peter Ashmore
  • CIHR Doctoral Awards ($30,000/year +$5000/year for research) Deadline: September 28, 2015
  • NSERC Doctoral and Post Grad Doctoral ($35,000/year or $21,000/year) Deadline: October 5, 2015 to Peter Ashmore
  • SSHRC Doctoral Awards (35,000/year or 20,000/year) Deadline: October 9, 2015 to Peter Ashmore
  • OGS and Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarships (15,000) Deadline: December 7, 2015 to Peter Ashmore
  • Others: Trillium (Doctoral International); Trudeau; Vanier; Richard J. Schemeelk; W.L. Mackenzie King Memorial; Michael Smith CGS Foreign Study Supplements

Scholarship List – a compiled list for you with more details.

What you typically need:
– Up to date transcripts
– 1-2 page personal statement / proposal – use key words; send to Peter Ashmore for Department feedback
– 2 academic references (minimum) – start now! Speak to professors who have given you top grades; send them your CV and research statement
– CV or CCV – academic resume or online file – give yourself at least a few weeks to do this

Need more information about this? Want to let us know how the workshop went? Send Siera Vercillo an email:

Next workshop: October 23 Comprehensive Exams, Proposal and other Milestones 

T-Minus 14 Days……

Hi Grads, two weeks until classes begin.

western fall

Before that happens, the society of graduate students in the geography department (GeoGrads) and the Department have a few plans.

The Orientation 2016 Schedule is up now, for incoming students, things get started on September 7th (see link).

The full schedule of events for all GeoGrads will be posted at the end of this week.

As an early primer, enjoy this wonderful organizational chart of the GeoGrads (also see ‘About us’).


Organizational Chart

Research Committee Workshop Poll

Hi Everyone,
This is an opportunity for you to vote on topics for the upcoming workshops during the 2015-2016 academic year.
Please vote here and we will coordinate the sessions that have received the most number of votes and let you know in advance when the workshops will take place.

If you have any specific feedback or recommendations outside of the poll, please send it to the Research Committee head – Siera (

Geograd 2015 Election and New Executives

Hi all

The Geograd Elections are now complete!

The following people have been elected to serve as committee heads from September 2015, to September 1st, 2016.




Remaining – Danny Bednar (to be replaced for Jan 1, 2016)

Incoming – Meghan McMorris (to be replaced for July 1st (2016)

Treasurer – Sarah Mason

Social Committee – Chad Walker, Kayla Baumgartner, Meghan McMorris

International Student RepresentativesLydia Osei, Chunhua Liao

Wellness & Sustainability Organizer – Meghan McMorris

Research Committee – Sierra Vercillo


Speaker Series – Sierra Vercillo, Anna Waz, Danielle Barr , Roger Antabe

Graduate Affairs Committee – Sarah Mason

Space Committee – Wes Kinghorn

Appointments Committee – Wes Kinghorn, Sarah Peirce


Union (PSAC) Representative – Heather Peacock, Michael Allen (appointed September 2015)

SOGS Representatives – Martin Lefebvre, Emily Lipkowski, Roger Antabe